Home | About Jute | Jute Prices | Organisation | Directory | Technology | Statistics | Diversification | Jute Policy | Jute News | FAQ

   Home>  Railways>  Indian Railways Network              


    The Indian railways traverse through the length and width of the country; the routes cover a total length of 63,140 km (39,462 miles).  It is one of the largest and busiest rail networks in the world, transporting just over six billion passengers and almost 750 million tonnes of  freight annually. Indian Railway is the world's largest commercial or utility employer, with more than 1.6 million employees. The entire railway reservation system was streamlined with computerisation in 1995.

Railway zones
For administrative purposes, Indian Railways is divided into sixteen zones.
No  .Name                                         Abbr.          Headquarters
1.    Northern Railway                              NR                   Delhi
2.    North Eastern Railway                      NER                 Gorakhpur
3.    Northeast Frontier Railway                NFR                 Maligaon(Guwahati) 
4    .Eastern Railway                               ER                   Kolkata
5.    South Eastern Railway                     SER                 Kolkata
6.   South Central Railway                       SCR                 Secunderabad
7.   Southern Railway                              SR                   Chennai
8.   Central Railway                                 CR                   Mumbai
9.   Western Railway                               WR                  Mumbai
10. South Western Railway                      SWR                Hubli
11. North Western Railway                       NWR                Jaipur
12. West Central Railwa                          WCR                Jabalpur
13. North Central Railway                        NCR                 Allahabad
14. South East Central Railway                SECR               Bilaspur, CG
15. East Coast Railway                           ECoR                Bhubaneswar
16. East Central Railway                         ECR                  Hajipur
17. Konkan Railway                                †KR                   Navi Mumbai

     (†Konkan Railway (KR) is constituted as a separately incorporated railway, with its headquarters at Belapur CBD (Navi Mumbai).
 Divisions in each railway zones
 Each zonal railway is made up of a certain number of divisions, each having a divisional headquarters. There are a total of sixty-seven divisions.
Zonal                                 RailwayDivisions
Northern Railway                   Delhi, Ambala, Firozpur, Lucknow, Moradabad
North Eastern Railway           Izzatnagar, Lucknow, Varanasi
Northeast Frontier Railway     Alipurduar, Katihar, Lumding, Rangia, Tinsukia
Eastern Railway                    Howrah, Sealdah, Asansol, Malda
South Eastern Railway          Adra, Chakradharpur, Kharagpur, Ranchi
South Central Railway           Secunderabad, Hyderabad, Guntakal, Guntur, Nanded, Vijayawada
Southern Railway                  Chennai, Madurai, Palghat, Tiruchchirapalli, Trivandrum, Salem
Central Railway                     Mumbai, Bhusawal, Pune, Solapur, Nagpur
Western Railway                   Mumbai Central, Baroda, Ratlam, Ahmedabad, Rajkot, Bhavnagar
South Western Railway          Hubli, Bangalore, Mysore
North Western Railway          Jaipur, Ajmer, Bikaner, Jodhpur
West Central Railway            Jabalpur, Bhopal, Kota
North Central Railway            Allahabad, Agra, Jhansi
South East Central Railway    Bilaspur, Raipur, Nagpur
East Coast Railway               Khurda Road, Sambalpur, Visakhapatnam
East Central Railway             Danapur, Dhanbad, Mughalsarai, Samastipur, Sonpur
Notable trains 
  The Darjeeling Himalayan Railway is a World Heritage Site. The Darjeeling Himalayan Railway, a narrow
gauge train with a steam locomotive is classified as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. The route started at New Jalpaiguri in the plains in West Bengal and traverses tea gardens en route to Darjeeling, a hill station at an elevation of 2,134 metres (7,000 ft). 
   The Nilgiri Mountain Railway, in the Nilgiri Hills in southern India, is also classified as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. It is also the only rack railway in India.
  The Chatrapati Shivaji Terminus (formerly Victoria Terminus) railway station in Mumbai is another World Heritage Site operated by Indian Railways.
  The Palace on Wheels is a specially designed train, lugged by a steam engine, for promoting tourism
in Rajasthan.
  The Samjhauta Express  train  ran between India and Pakistan. It was closed due to hostilities between the two nations in 2001 but was reopened when the hostilities subsided in 2004.
  The Lifeline Express is a special train popularly known as the "Hospital-on-Wheels" which provides healthcare to the rural areas.
  The Himsagar Express, between Kanyakumari and Jammu Tawi, has the longest run in terms of distance and time on Indian Railways network. It covers 3,745 km (2,327 miles) in about 74 hours and 55 minutes.

[About Jute ] [Jute prices ] [Jute Organisation ] [Directory ] [Jute Technology ] [Diversification ] [Statistics ] [Jute Policy ] [FAQ] [Railways ] [Airways] [Weather ] [Contact Us ] [Advertise With Us ] [About Us ] [Disclaimer]

Site copyright ă 2002, Worldjute.com All Rights Reserved.

Best viewed at 800 x 600 screen size